Dave Harris - Retires from KXRA after 48 years

(file photo) Former KXRA Sports Director Dave Harris is shown following his final play-by-play broadcast at Alexandria Area High School in December, 2014. He is among those honored with the Class of 2019 to be inducted into the Minnesota State High School League's Hall of Fame. 

(Brooklyn Center, MN) -- The Minnesota State High School League has announced that longtime Alexandria coach, educator, and radio personality Dave Harris will be honored with induction to the League's Hall of Fame, as part of the Class of 2019.

Dave Harris has worn many hats during his more than four decades of service to the Minnesota State High School League. He was a longtime boys and girls golf coach in the Alexandria School District, leading the Cardinals to numerous successful seasons. Harris was selected the state girls coach of the year in 2001 and 2008, respectively, and was a three-time section coach of the year. From 1966-76, he was a sports reporter for the Alexandria newspaper and then added radio play-by-play duties in 1968 with KXRA. That career spanned nearly 50 years. Dave Harris was the inaugural recipient of the League’s Outstanding Media Service Award in 2015. From 1978 through his retirement in 2018, he was also the Region 8AA secretary. He is a 1961 graduate of Montevideo High School. Dave and his wife, Evie reside in Alexandria and still attend numerous Alexandria school activities and Cardinal sporting events. 

Former Eagan High School girls’ hockey standout Natalie Darwitz and Saint Paul Academy soccer sensation Tony Sanneh, both of whom rose to international stardom, along with longtime League administrator Dave Stead, are also among the 11 individuals and the Grand Meadow girls basketball dynasty that will be inducted into the Minnesota State High School League’s Hall of Fame October 20th.

The others selected for induction are: Minneapolis North basketball standout Khalid El-Amin; the Grand Meadow girls basketball program, which from 1929-39 won 94 consecutive games; Cliff Janke, a longtime Fairmont Speech and Debate coach and leader; Faith Johnson Patterson, who led Minneapolis North and DeLaSalle to three consecutive championships each in girls basketball; Bill Kronschnabel, a longtime hockey official, rules clinician and state tournament administrator; Byron Olson, an activities administrator, wrestling official and state tournament manager; Gary Smith of Minneapolis, who is the first athletic trainer to be inducted, and Bill Webb, an Edina teaching icon, who spent nearly 30 years as a music educator and leader in the development of music education.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for Sunday, October 20th at 1 p.m. at the InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront Hotel. The event is open to the public. For event tickets, contact the League office at 763-560-2262 or visit the League’s website -- www.mshsl.org -- and click on the 2019 Hall of Fame Invitation link on the home page.

The League’s Hall of Fame, sponsored by Wells Fargo, started in 1991. The 2019 class is the 23rd group to be inducted. The inductees were chosen through a multi-level selection process. With this class, there now are 231 individuals in the hall and one group.

The full release, with highlights on each of the selected inductees, can be accessed through this link: https://legacy.mshsl.org/mshsl/upload/MSHSL071611HOF%20---%20Release%202019--Tim%20Final.pdf