Sen. Torrey Westrom

Sen. Torrey Westrom (R), Senate chairman of the Agriculture, Rural Development Finance and Policy Committee, gave a pitch for E-15 gasoline in Minnesota.

(ST. PAUL, MN) – On Wednesday, February 17, the Senate Agriculture Committee heard Senator Torrey Westrom’s (R-Elbow Lake) bill to increase the minimum ethanol content in gasoline to 15 percent. This bill is a top priority for Minnesota corn farmers and agriculture groups across the state.

“Ethanol is one of Minnesota’s only oil wells,” said Senator Westrom, who also chairs the Senate Agriculture Committee. “This legislation allows us to not only continue to be a leader in homegrown fuels, but also creates opportunities for farmers in helping our state and nation become energy independent. Minnesota was the first in the country with E10, and we will continue to lead with E15.”