Douglas County Courthouse

The Douglas County Courthouse is located at 305 8th Ave West in Alexandria is the home for many of the county's offices.

Alexandria, Minn. — Douglas County will continue to provide important services to its residents during the COVID-19 pandemic, but due to an increase in visits from non-county residents, access to the courthouse and public works will be restricted effective 4:30p.m.Thursday, March 26. Exterior doors will be locked. Services that are time-sensitive or mandated by state or federal statutes will continue to be available on an appointment-only basis. Douglas County residents are asked to call or email the department to request an appointment.

Members of the public are asked to use exterior drop boxes at the courthouse as well as mail, phone and internet to conduct other transactions.

Staff will continue to work regular business hours. Additional information on options for accessing services are below:

Assessor’s Office

Residents wishing to contact our office should call 320-762-3884 or email us at Requests for Boards of Appeal are by appointment only and must be made by phone. Staff are still here to answer questions. Some questions can be answered by going to the county website and looking under “Parcel Info Lookup” or on the Government tab clicking on “Assessor’s Office”


Residents paying first half property taxes are asked to use the following options: place payments in the drop box at the south side entrance to the courthouse at 305 8th Avenue West Alexandria, mail tax payments in the envelope provided, pay online by credit card or e-check using the Douglas County website and looking under Online Services and clicking on Pay Property Taxes or using the Property Tax Direct Payment Plan.

The Property Tax Direct Payment Plan is also available at the website. On the home page look for I Want To and under forms click on Property Tax Direct Payment Plan. This plan provides for a tax payment to be automatically taken out of the designated account on the tax due date.

Douglas County Emergency Management/Public Information Officer